Enlightenment Gothic. Vasily Bazhenov — Anniversary Year
Exhibition catalogue

Book includes both Russian and English versions of its text. Avaliable for purchase at IN ARTIBUS foundation and Shchusev State Museum of Architecture.
1 / 5
  • 1/5
    © ABCdesign, image
    © ABCdesign, image
  • 2/5
    © ABCdesign, image
    © ABCdesign, image
  • 3/5
    © ABCdesign, image
    © ABCdesign, image
  • 4/5
    © ABCdesign, image
    © ABCdesign, image
  • 5/5
    © ABCdesign, image
    © ABCdesign, image

The catalog accompanies a large-scale joint project by the Shchusev State Museum of Architecture and the IN ARTIBUS foundation entitled Enlightenment Gothic. Vasily Bazhenov — Anniversary Year. The show comprises more than 140 works, including graphics, painting, sculpture, arts and crafts, historical artifacts and video, that are displayed at both sites and divided into seven sections. The works of the great architect are supplemented by works of illustrious architects and artists including Matvei Kazakov, Giacomo Quarenghi, Giovanni Battista Piranesi, Rembrandt Harmens van Rijn and others.

Some 800 pages of the catalog hold articles discussing the Russian "Gothic" architecture in the context of the West European tradition, numerous illustrations and rare architectural documents, detailed analysis of each section of the exhibition. Book includes both Russian and English versions of its text.

After the seven thematic sections of the exhibition — Russian Gothic, Architect, Empress, Tournament, Propylaea, Residence, Temple and Masonic Study, the catalog reveals all the facets of Russian gothic and Vasily Bazhenov's art.

The authors of the book and the originators of the exhibition describe in detail the peculiarities of the architecture of the Enlightenment and the phenomenon of the "Gothic taste", which for the first time became a separate topic of art history research.

Готика Просвещения. Юбилейный год Василия Баженова.
Каталог выставки

Двуязычное издание: все материалы каталога представлены на русском и английском языках. Каталог в продаже в фонде IN ARTIBUS и Государственном музее архитектуры им. А.В. Щусева.
1 / 5
  • 1/5
    © ABCdesign, фото
    © ABCdesign, фото
  • 2/5
    © ABCdesign, фото
    © ABCdesign, фото
  • 3/5
    © ABCdesign, фото
    © ABCdesign, фото
  • 4/5
    © ABCdesign, фото
    © ABCdesign, фото
  • 5/5
    © ABCdesign, фото
    © ABCdesign, фото

Каталог «Готика Просвещения. Юбилейный год Василия Баженова» издан к открытию совместного выставочного проекта Государственного музея архитектуры им. А.В. Щусева и фонда IN ARTIBUS. Более 140 произведений, включающих графику, живопись, скульптуру, декоративно-прикладное искусство, исторические артефакты и видео, предстанут перед зрителями на обеих площадках и условно разделят экспозицию на семь частей. Работы великого зодчего на выставке будут дополнены произведениями таких знаменитых архитекторов и художников, как Матвей Казаков, Джакомо Кваренги, Джованни Баттиста Пиранези, Рембрандт Харменс ван Рейн и др. 

Почти 800 страниц каталога — это статьи о русской «готической» архитектуре в контексте западноевропейской традиции, множество иллюстраций и редких архитектурных документов, подробный анализ всех разделов выставки. Материалы в каталоге представлены на русском и английском языках. 

Вслед за семью тематическими разделами выставки — «Русское готическое», «Архитектор», «Императрица», «Турнир», «Пропилеи», «Резиденция», «Храм» и «Масонский кабинет» — разделы каталога раскрывают все грани русской готики и творчества Василия Баженова. 

Авторы книги и создатели выставки подробно расскажут об особенностях архитектуры эпохи Просвещения и феномене «готического вкуса», который впервые стал отдельной темой искусствоведческого исследования. 

facebook
twitter vk.com