Luigi Pelli, Russian and Swiss: a book of architect's travel notes was presented at the residence of Swiss Ambassador in Russia

On April 22, the residence of the Ambassador of Switzerland in Russia hosted a presentation of ‘Travel Diary of Luigi Pelli of Aranno from St. Petersburg to Lugano in 1829’, published in Russian by the IN ARTIBUS foundation.

 

1 / 9
  • 1/9
    Pierre Helg, Ambassador of Switzerland in Russia
    Pierre Helg, Ambassador of Switzerland in Russia
  • 2/9
    Ekaterina Kondranina, Pierre Helg, and Inna Bazhenova
    Ekaterina Kondranina, Pierre Helg, and Inna Bazhenova
  • 3/9
    Enzo Pelli, the descendant of Luigi Pelli
    Enzo Pelli, the descendant of Luigi Pelli
  • 4/9
    Luigi Pelli, Russian and Swiss: a book of architect's travel notes was presented at the residence of Swiss Ambassador in Russia
    Luigi Pelli, Russian and Swiss: a book of architect's travel notes was presented at the residence of Swiss Ambassador in Russia
  • 5/9
    Luigi Pelli, Russian and Swiss: a book of architect's travel notes was presented at the residence of Swiss Ambassador in Russia
    Luigi Pelli, Russian and Swiss: a book of architect's travel notes was presented at the residence of Swiss Ambassador in Russia
  • 6/9
    Yuri Palmin gives his work from “Winter Journey. Winterreise” series to Swiss ambassador
    Yuri Palmin gives his work from “Winter Journey. Winterreise” series to Swiss ambassador
  • 7/9
    Pianist and composer Vladimir Sverdlov-Ashkenazi
    Pianist and composer Vladimir Sverdlov-Ashkenazi
  • 8/9
    Enzo Pelli, Inna Bazhenova, Giorgio Mollisi, and Yulia Ilyina
    Enzo Pelli, Inna Bazhenova, Giorgio Mollisi, and Yulia Ilyina
  • 9/9
    Luigi Pelli, Russian and Swiss: a book of architect's travel notes was presented at the residence of Swiss Ambassador in Russia
    Luigi Pelli, Russian and Swiss: a book of architect's travel notes was presented at the residence of Swiss Ambassador in Russia
The event was timed to coincide with the 200th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Russia and Switzerland. The guests were welcomed by Pierre Helg, the Ambassador of Switzerland in Russia. 

The Founder of the IN ARTIBUS Inna Bazhenova thanked the Ambassador for the opportunity to present this edition in his residence, and talked about some of the details of the origins of the project. In summer 2014 the Fund has supported the Italian publication of travel notes of a Swiss architect Luigi Pelli, and afterwords decided to publish it in Russian, as it became clear that the diary of the architect is of great value for the history of Russian architecture. 

The presentation featured the people directly associated with the personality of the Swiss architect: his descendant journalist and painter Enzo Pelli, and an art critic Giorgio Mollisi long engaged in the work of Ticino architects who worked abroad. 

Enzo Pelli told the story of finding the diary of his ancestor. Three years ago in a family house in Aranno he was sorting out some old newspapers and magazines of the 1930s and stumbled on a small notebook. This was the ‘Travel Diary of Luigi Pelli of Aranno from Saint Petersburg to Lugano in 1829’, written in a nice and even handwriting. After a while there grew an idea of publishing the diary and the drawings which were kept in the family archives for nearly two centuries. 

A descendant of the Swiss architect expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the IN ARTIBUS foundation and personally to Inna Bazhenova for publishing the family archive materials in Russian and expressed the hope that the study of materials that his family is happy to provide to Russian scientists, will shed light on the role of Luigi Pelli in the architectural history of Moscow. 

Giorgio Mollisi continued the theme of studying the graphic and epistolary heritage of Luigi Pelli continued. He recalled that Luigi Pelli arrived in Moscow around 1820 at the invitation of the Swiss architect Domenico Gilardi, with whom Pelli was familiar since his youth – the family archives preserve a portrait of Luigi made by Gilardi at the end of XVIII century. In the 1820s, he became an assistant to Gilardi in reconstructing Moscow after the fire of 1812. 

Besides that, Mr Mollisi told about the great value of the graphic heritage of Luigi Pelli. The book published with the support of IN ARTIBUS, includes his architectural drawings and outlines, among which some have been identified by Giorgio Mollizi as projects of the Board of Trustees in Moscow (by architect Gilardi), a House with Doric columns (by architect Grigoriev, a colleague of Pelli’s and famous assistant to Gilardi) and drawings by Domenico Gilardi for the Moscow University building. 

Julia Klimenko, an assistant professor of history of architecture and urban planning of Moscow Architectural Institute, talked about Pelli’s place and role in the architectural community engaged in the reconstruction of Moscow in the 1820s. She noted that “before our eyes appear new architectural characters, the authors of works of Moscow who remained anonymous for so long.” Attempts to discover the authentic history of many beautiful buildings in Moscow now can succeed with the promulgation of the architects’ materials preserved in their family archives. This gives a reason to look forward for upcoming numerous discoveries related to re-attributing a number of famous monuments of Russian architecture. In conclusion, she expressed the hope that in the near future, the name of Luigi Pelli will take its rightful place in the annals of Moscow architecture of XIX century. 

An exhibition “Winter Jounrey. Winterreise”, related to the publication of the book, is now on display in the IN ARTIBUS exhibition space until May 20 (Moscow, Prechistenskaya naberezhnaya, 17). This is a project of an architectural photographer Yuri Palmin who repeated the XIX century route of Luigi Pelli in the XXI century. Yuri Palmin presented one of the works from this series – a view of Castelgrande, Bellinzona, Ticino – as a gift to the Swiss Ambassador Pierre Helg. 

The official part of the presentation was concluded by a show of an outstanding pianist and composer Vladimir Sverdlov-Ashkenazi

The presentation was held with the support of the following companies: Audemars Piguet Swiss watch, Gourji exclusive accessories and gifts, Swiss national airline, St. Regis Nikolskaya Moscow luxury hotel, Courvoisier cognac house, Molecule selective fragrances, and Tseleevo golf and polo club.

Луиджи Пелли: в России и в Швейцарии. Презентация русского издания дневников архитектора в резиденции посла Швейцарии

22 апреля в резиденции посла Швейцарии в России Пьера Хельга состоялась презентация книги «Дневник путешествия Луиджи Пелли, родом из Аранно, из Санкт-Петербурга в Лугано в 1829 году», изданной фондом IN ARTIBUS на русском языке. В книгу вошли путевые заметки, наброски и чертежи швейцарского архитектора.

1 / 9
  • 1/9
    Пьер Хельг, посол Швейцарии в России
    Пьер Хельг, посол Швейцарии в России
  • 2/9
    Екатерина Кондранина, Пьер Хельг, Инна Баженова
    Екатерина Кондранина, Пьер Хельг, Инна Баженова
  • 3/9
    Энцо Пелли, потомок архитектора Луиджи Пелли
    Энцо Пелли, потомок архитектора Луиджи Пелли
  • 4/9
    Луиджи Пелли: в России и в Швейцарии. Презентация русского издания дневников архитектора в резиденции посла Швейцарии
    Луиджи Пелли: в России и в Швейцарии. Презентация русского издания дневников архитектора в резиденции посла Швейцарии
  • 5/9
    Луиджи Пелли: в России и в Швейцарии. Презентация русского издания дневников архитектора в резиденции посла Швейцарии
    Луиджи Пелли: в России и в Швейцарии. Презентация русского издания дневников архитектора в резиденции посла Швейцарии
  • 6/9
    Юрий Пальмин вручает послу Швейцарии снимок из серии «Зимняя поездка. Winterreise»
    Юрий Пальмин вручает послу Швейцарии снимок из серии «Зимняя поездка. Winterreise»
  • 7/9
    Пианист и композитор Владимир Свердлов-Ашкенази
    Пианист и композитор Владимир Свердлов-Ашкенази
  • 8/9
    Энцо Пелли, Инна Баженова, Джорджо Моллизи, Юлия Ильина
    Энцо Пелли, Инна Баженова, Джорджо Моллизи, Юлия Ильина
  • 9/9
    Луиджи Пелли: в России и в Швейцарии. Презентация русского издания дневников архитектора в резиденции посла Швейцарии
    Луиджи Пелли: в России и в Швейцарии. Презентация русского издания дневников архитектора в резиденции посла Швейцарии

Событие было приурочено к 200-летию установления дипломатических отношений между Россией и Швейцарией. Гостей вечера приветствовал Пьер Хельг, посол Швейцарии в России.

Основатель фонда IN ARTIBUS Инна Баженова поблагодарила посла за возможность представить в его резиденции это издание и рассказала о некоторых подробностях зарождения проекта. Летом 2014 года фонд поддержал издание путевых заметок швейцарского архитектора Луиджи Пелли на итальянском языке, после чего было принято решение опубликовать их на русском языке, так как выяснилось, что дневник швейцарца имеет большую ценность для истории русской архитектуры.

На презентации также выступили люди, непосредственно связанные с личностью швейцарского архитектора: журналист и художник Энцо Пелли, его потомок, и искусствовед Джорджо Моллизи, давно занимающийся творчеством архитекторов из Тичино, работавших за рубежом.

Энцо Пелли рассказал об истории обнаружения дневника своего предка. Три года назад он разбирал старые газеты и журналы 1930-х годов в фамильном доме в Аранно и случайно наткнулся на маленькую тетрадку. Это и оказался «Дневник путешествия Луиджи Пелли, родом из Аранно, из Санкт-Петербурга в Лугано в 1829 году», написанный ровным красивым почерком. Через некоторое время родилась идея опубликовать этот дневник и чертежные рисунки, хранившиеся в семейном архиве на протяжении почти двух столетий. Так появилось издание тичинского журнала Arte Storia на итальянском языке.

Потомок швейцарского архитектора выразил сердечную благодарность фонду IN ARTIBUS и лично Инне Баженовой за публикацию семейного архива на русском языке и выразил надежду на то, что исследование материалов, которые его семья с радостью предоставила российским ученым, прольет свет на роль Луиджи Пелли в архитектурной истории Москвы. Энцо Пелли назвал дневник путешествия своего предка своего рода одиссеей и отметил, что хотя Луиджи никогда не писал там о своей работе в России, но его точные замечания о «вкусе и менталитете» архитекторов, строивших эту страну, представляют большую ценность для исследователей.

Тему изучения эпистолярного и графического наследия Луиджи Пелли продолжил искусствовед Джорджо Моллизи. Он напомнил, что Луиджи Пелли приехал в Москву примерно в 1820 году по приглашению швейцарского архитектора Доменико Жилярди. С ним Пелли был знаком с молодости — в семейном архиве сохранился портрет Луиджи, выполненный Жилярди в конце XVIII века. В 1820-е годы он становится помощником Жилярди в деле восстановления Москвы после пожара 1812 года.

Отдельно господин Моллизи рассказал о графическом наследии Луиджи Пелли, которое представляет огромную ценность. В книге, изданной при поддержке фонда IN ARTIBUS, опубликованы его архитектурные рисунки — Джорджо Моллизи опознал в этих набросках проекты Опекунского совета в Москве (архитектор Жилярди), жилой дом с дорическими колоннами (архитектор Григорьев, коллега Пелли и знаменитый ассистент Жилярди), а также фасад и чертежи Доменико Жилярди для Московского университета.

О месте и роли швейцарца в архитектурном сообществе, которое занималось реконструкцией Москвы в 1820-х годах, говорила и кандидат архитектуры Юлия Клименко, доцент кафедры истории архитектуры и градостроительства МАРХИ. Она отметила, что «на наших глазах появляются новые архитектурные герои, авторы московских произведений, которые так долго оставались безымянными». Попытки реконструировать достоверную историю строительства многих прекрасных сооружений Москвы и Подмосковья теперь возможны лишь при обнародовании материалов архитекторов, сохранившихся на их родине в семейных архивах. Именно это позволяет надеяться и ждать многочисленных открытий, связанных с переатрибуцией ряда известных памятников русской архитектуры. В заключение она выразила надежду на то, что уже в скором будущем имя Луиджи Пелли займет достойное место в архитектурной летописи Москвы XIX века в период восстановления после пожара 1812 года.

К выходу в свет книги «Дневник путешествия Луиджи Пелли, родом из Аранно, из Санкт-Петербурга в Лугано в 1829 году» приурочена выставка «Зимняя поездка. Winterreise», которую можно увидеть до 20 мая в выставочном пространстве фонда IN ARTIBUS (Пречистенская наб., 17). Это проект современного архитектурного фотографа Юрия Пальмина, который в ХХI веке повторил маршрут путешествия, которое Луиджи Пелли совершил в XIX веке. Одну из работ этой серии — вид Castelgrande, Bellinzona, Ticino — Юрий Пальмин преподнес в подарок швейцарскому послу Пьеру Хельгу.

Официальную часть презентации завершило выступление выдающегося пианиста и композитора Владимира Свердлова-Ашкенази.

Презентация прошла при поддержке известных компаний: швейцарской часовой марки Audemars Piguet, бренда эксклюзивных аксессуаров и сувениров Gourji, национального авиаперевозчика Швейцарии Swiss, роскошного отеля St. Regis Москва Никольская, коньячного дома Courvoisier, проекта Molecule, специализирующегося на селективных ароматах, а также гольф- и поло-клуба «Целеево».