LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.

  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    Moscow food. Bread. 1924. Collection of State Tretyakov Gallery
  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    Gurzuf. Women's beach. 1925. Collection of Volgograd State Museum of Fine Arts
  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    A girl with sunflowers. Portrait of Zoya Andreeva. 1930
  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    September morning in Artek. 1934
  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    Still life with magnolias. 1934. Collection of State Russian Museum
  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    Stepe. Bur. 1933. Collection of Volgograd State Museum of Fine Arts
  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    Strawberry and white jar. 1943. Collection of State Tretyakov Gallery
  • LATE MASHKOV. Paintings by Ilya Mashkov from State Museums and Private Collections.
    Grapes with a figurine. 1940s. Collection of Perm State Art Gallery

Starting 14 April 2016, the IN ARTIBUS foundation launches the third exhibition of the Moscow School series entitled "Late Mashkov". Curators have focused on the latter two decades, the mature period of Mashkov's artistic life. Today, the 'late' Mashkov is certainly underestimated by art historians and critics, being in the shadow of himself as a part of 'Jack of Diamonds'. He is also not very popular among the modern audience, as there is currently no permanent exhibitions that would give a chance to get to know Mashkov’s late period. This situation is nothing new to the artist: until 1970s his art was perceived in a contrary way, looking at the 'Jack of Diamonds' époque as at Mashkov’s preparations for the feats of socialist realism, which, however, he never performed.

The earliest works at the exhibition – Still Life with a Fan (1922), Crimean Fruit and Magnolia (1923), Portrait of M.I. Mashkova (1923) (all from the State Russian Museum's collection) – were shown at a landmark 'Exhibition of Paintings' (1923), which marked the turn of Jack of Diamonds’ artists, being at the peak of glory, from radical modernism to the classics. Visitors of the exhibition will also see the famous Mashkov’s painting Moscow food. Bread (1924), which has not recently been displayed in the permanent exhibition at the Tretyakov Gallery.

Along with the illustrious works, the exhibition includes a number of Mashkov's less known paintings. Among them some will find a true discovery, A girl with sunflowers from a Moscow private collection, which has been considered lost until recently. It is one of the three key-note 'portraits in a landscape', created in 1930, when the artist, unwilling to join the Moscow fight for the place in the sun, declared that he was looking to “turn 100 percent towards the manufacture, that is, towards the easel” and left to work in the Mikhailovskaya village. The exhibition gives an opportunity, for the first time in 85 years, to see all three paintings together; two of them – “Farmer with Pumpkins” and “Girl on the tobacco plantations” – belong to Volgograd Museum of Fine Arts named after I.I. Mashkov.
The major part of the exhibition is composed of classical «museum» still lifes (1920-30s) and of chamber works of the latter 'Abramtsevo period' (1930-40s), for a total of about 40 works by Ilya Mashkov from private collections and state museums (among them, besides those mentioned: Perm State Art Gallery, Vologda State Art Gallery, Kaluga Museum of Fine Arts, Bryansk Museum of Fine Arts).

The exhibition is expected to feature the virtual presence of a pictorial ensemble by Mashkov, which now appears to be in a queer status of an 'unknown masterpiece”' The six enormous wall paintings for the banquet hall of the Hotel Moskva (1937-1938) are currently unavailable for display: having been handed over to the State Museum of Architecture, they require restoration and suitable exhibition space. Some special part of the exhibition will be composed of eight sketches to the Hotel Moskva ensemble (1937) from a private collection.

Organizers of the exhibition regard Mashkov less as a tempered revolutioner and novator and more as a self-confident classic of european painting, a visionary of Russian coloristic tradition, an outstanding teacher and an artist who devoted himself entirely to art, and suggest that Mashkov’s art is of most interest in its entirety.
Since the significance of a particular period is not a fixed value and is reliant on the needs of the time, the IN ARTIBUS suggests paying attention to what comprises the basis to Mashkov's artistic process throughout its lifelong duration: the issues of colour, composition, mastery, and interconnections with the world art, that is, the fundamental issues of painting.

in artibus foundation

Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний

  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Снедь московская. Хлебы. 1924. Собрание Государственной Третьяковской галереи
  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Гурзуф. Женский пляж. 1925. Собрание Волгоградского музея изобразительных искусств им. И.И. Машкова
  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Девушка с подсолнухами. Портрет Зои Андреевой. 1930
  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Сентябрьское утро в Артеке. 1934
  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Натюрморт с магнолиями. 1934. Собрание Государственного Русского музея
  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Степь. Репейник. 1933. Собрание Волгоградского музея изобразительных искусств им. И.И. Машкова
  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Клубника и белый кувшин. 1943. Собрание Государственной Третьяковской галереи
  • Поздний Машков. Живопись из российских музеев и частных собраний
    Виноград со статуэткой. 1940-е. Собрание Пермской государственной художественной галереи

С 14 апреля 2016 года в фонде IN ARTIBUS открывается выставка «Поздний Машков» — третья из серии «Московская школа». Ее организаторы сделали акцент на последнем двадцатилетии — зрелом периоде творчества художника. «Поздний» Машков в настоящее время недооценен искусствоведами и критиками, пребывая в тени себя — «бубнововалетовского». Он не очень популярен и у современной публики: возможности познакомиться с поздним периодом Машкова сейчас, к сожалению, не предоставляет ни одна из постоянных экспозиций. Подобная ситуация художнику не в новинку — вплоть до 1970-х его творчество рассматривалось в противоположном ракурсе — эпоха «Бубнового валета» представлялась подготовкой Машкова к подвигам соцреализма, которых он, к слову, так и не совершил.

Наиболее ранние работы на выставке — «Натюрморт с веером» (1922), «Крымские фрукты и магнолия» (1923), «Портрет М.И. Машковой» (1923) (все из коллекции Государственного Русского музея) — экспонировались на рубежной «Выставке картин» (1923), знаменовавшей поворот художников «Бубнового валета», находящихся в зените славы, от радикального модернизма — к классике. В залах фонда зрители увидят также знаменитое полотно Машкова «Снедь московская. Хлебы» (1924), последнее время отсутствующее в постоянной экспозиции Третьяковской галереи.

Наряду с хрестоматийными работами в состав экспозиции включены малоизвестные работы художника. Настоящим открытием станет еще недавно считавшаяся утраченной «Девушка с подсолнухами» из московской частной коллекции — один из трех программных «портретов в пейзаже», созданных в 1930 году, когда художник, не пожелавший участвовать в столичной борьбе за место под солнцем, объявил, что хочет «стать на 100% к производству, то есть к мольберту» и удалился работать в станицу Михайловская. Выставка предоставляет возможность впервые за 85 лет увидеть вместе все три работы; две из них — «Колхозница с тыквами» и «Девушка на табачной плантации» — принадлежат Волгоградскому художественному музею им. И.И. Машкова.

Основная часть экспозиции — классические «музейные» натюрморты (1920-30-е) и камерные работы последнего, «абрамцевского периода» (1930-40-е); всего — около сорока работ Ильи Ивановича Машкова из частных собраний и государственных музеев (среди них, кроме упомянутых: Пермская и Вологодская художественные галереи, Калужский и Брянский художественные музеи и др.)

На выставке запланировано виртуальное присутствие живописного ансамбля Машкова, пребывающего ныне в своеобразном статусе «неведомого шедевра». Шесть грандиозных панно для банкетного зала гостиницы «Москва» (1937-1938) в настоящее время недоступны для осмотра: переданные в Государственный музей архитектуры, они нуждаются в реставрации и подходящих экспозиционных площадях. Специальная часть экспозиции — восемь эскизов к ансамблю гостиницы «Москва» (1937) из частной коллекции.

Организаторы выставки представляют себе Машкова не столько темпераментным революционером и новатором, сколько уверенным в себе классиком европейской живописи, родоначальником русской колористической традиции, выдающимся педагогом и художником, посвятившим себя исключительно искусству, и полагают, что творчество Машкова представляет интерес во всей своей полноте.

Поскольку ценность разных периодов — величина не постоянная и зависит от требований времени, IN ARTIBUS предлагает обратить внимание на то, что составляет основу творчества Машкова на всем его протяжении: вопросы цвета, композиции, мастерства и взаимосвязей с мировым искусством — фундаментальные проблемы живописи.

Фонд IN ARTIBUS
Выставочное пространство фонда IN ARTIBUS расположено в пяти минутах пешком от м. Кропоткинская по адресу Пречистенская набережная, д.17 (вход с Курсового переулка)
График работы:
вторник - пятница: с 11:00 до 20:00 суббота - воскресенье: с 11:00 до 19:00
понедельник — выходной день